Are You a Legal Professional?

FindLaw KnowledgeBase

Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Ohio
Ohio workers who are injured or become ill on the job may be eligible to receive workers' compensation benefits, but strict time limits on eligibility mean it is important to act fast.

If you have been injured on the job or developed a work-related illness in Ohio, you may be eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits.

Your first priorities after becoming ill or injured at work should be to notify your employer and seek medical attention. When you arrive at the hospital or doctor’s office, tell your health care provider the name of your managed care organization, or MCO, and ask him or her to file your claim with the MCO.

If your medical provider does not file a workers’ compensation claim for you, you can file the claim yourself by completing a First Report of Injury. You may complete the form online or print it out and mail it to the Ohio Bureau of Workers’ Compensation Office. The information required to process your claim will vary depending on the situation, but most cases will require:

  • Your name and address
  • Your employer’s name and workers’ compensation policy number
  • A detailed description of the accident
  • A diagnosis of the injury from a licensed physician
  • Medical documentation of the relationship between the treatment you received and your workplace injury or illness
  • Information about your inability to work

After receiving your application, the BWC will evaluate your claim and either approve or deny benefits within 28 days. If you or your employer disagree with the determination of your claim, either of you can file an appeal within 14 days after being notified of the decision.

Time Limits on Claims

After being injured on the job, it is important to act quickly to preserve your right to collect workers’ compensation benefits and prevent delays in receiving your benefits. In Ohio, you must file a claim application within two years after the date of injury or forfeit your right to receive workers’ compensation benefits. Dependent family members of workers killed on the job also have two years from the date of death to apply for benefits.

In cases involving work-related illnesses, which may develop gradually over an extended period of time and have no clear start date, the time limit for filing a workers’ compensation claim is two years from the date the disability began or six months after diagnosis of the occupational illness by a licensed physician.

For more information about workers’ compensation issues in Ohio, or for assistance filing a claim or appeal, speak with an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer in your area.

Keywords: injury, workers' compensation
FindLaw
We provide legal information, lawyer profiles and a community to help you make the best legal decisions. Here are a few ways to get started:

Find a Lawyer | Learn About the Law
View FindLaw.com: Mobile or