On July 1, 2011 strict new sex offender registration requirements went into effect in Alabama. The new law not only increased the registration obligations of those on the registry, it added stiff penalties for noncompliance. Authorities noted that the new law will add a great deal of work for law enforcement, but they wanted to send a message about how seriously the state takes sex crimes.
New Registration Requirements
Under the new law, offenders on the registry must renew their registration quarterly, rather than bi-annually as previously required. Offenders need to inform law enforcement each time they move, and homeless people on the registry will now have to check in with law enforcement each week. A $10 fee is required for each registration.
Registrants must now also provide police with information on where they will be working each day. If a registrant plans on being away from his or her residence for more than three days or travelling outside the immediate area, the registrant will now need to obtain a travel pass from the police.
Those whom the law has classified as sexual predators will need to wear global positioning devices for 10 years. Some juveniles will also need to register for life under the new law, rather than for only 10 years.
Additionally, Alabama will change how it classifies registrants. If a person moves into the state with an offense that was a felony in another state, Alabama will also consider the offense a felony.
The new law upgraded the failure to comply with registration requirements to a Class C felony. It is now also a Class C felony to aid and abet a sex offender or to employ a sex offender to work near children. Penalties for a Class C felony include two to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Talk to a Lawyer
The changes to the registry laws show that Alabama authorities devote numerous resources to prosecuting sex crime offenses. Those facing sex crime charges should consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can defend their rights.